Jolly January at the library!

 Restroom Facilities have been restored!

Stop by the library for a warm cup of coffee or tea and check out the new books! New to the library: “The Lilac Girls” by Martha Hall Kelly – “For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.” “Girl at War” by Sara Novic – “For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.”

 
Josiah Teen Book Worms Discussing  “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” by John Green Thursday January 12th   between  7-8:30  pm at the library

Pre school story hour January Thursdays January 12, 19, & 26 from 10:00 am – 11:00 am. January themes are  snowmen, mittens, penguins and shapes! Join Ms. Holly for a fun filled hour of stories, crafts and a snack. Ages 2 – 5

1, 2, 3 Cook!! “What’s in a soup?” Join us for a soup swap at the Pittsfield Senior Center January 10th from 12:30-2:00 pm as we discuss our personal favorite soup recipes! YUM!

Annual Library Scrapbooking Event! Join us while we review the 2016 library programs and make the most of our memories with the library scrapbooking project. Bring your own pictures and create a page for yourself using our scrapbooking materials and expertise! Tuesday Jan 17 & Thursday January 19th from 3:30-4:30.  All ages welcome.

 

Library Closed on Monday, January 16th in Observance of Martin Luther King’s birthday.

Library Board of Trustees Meeting Tuesday, January 18th, 2017 at 4 pm at the Town Hall.

January 18th Outreach program to Blueberry Express Daycare 10:00-11:00

Lego Maker Club continues at the library starting Wednesday January 11, 18, 25, February 1, 8, & 15 at 3:30 pm. Build and tell your stories- sign-up required

Read Meet & Talk Join us for an exciting book discussion on “The Beautiful Mystery” by Louise Penny at the Pittsfield Senior Community Center Tuesday January 26th at 10:30. Stay for a leisurely lunch afterward.

Have a Very, Merry, Cheerful. . . .celebration!

 

Attention: The Josiah Carpenter Library has new temporary hours!
Please feel free to come visit us and continue using library services during the following times:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 10:00 am- 2:30 pm
Wednesdays 10:00 am -4:30 pm
Friday and Saturdays 10:00 am – 1:00 pm

Restroom facilities are temporarily out of order, please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.
 

Josiah Carpenter Library Monthly News ~
christmashanukkah-clipart-rcddo8kc94i9nrxxie

December 2016

 


Josiah Teen Book Worms
Discussing “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs on Thursday, December 1st   between 7-8:30 pm at the library

 

Preschool story hour 10:00 am – 11:00 am Join Ms.Holly &  Ms. Carol for a fun filled hour of stories, crafts and a snack. Ages 2 – 5

 

Mini Technology tutorials offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment.

 

After School Maker Lego program resumes! Please join us for Lego fun on Wednesdays from 3:30-4:30 December 7, &14, 21 and will begin again January 11th

 

The Library will be closed Saturday December 24, and Monday December 26 for the Christmas holiday.   

Josiah Carpenter Library, 41 Main Street, Pittsfield, NH 03263 (603)435-8406
www.josiahcarpenterlibrary.org

Give Thanks for your Library!

Josiah Carpenter Library Monthly News ~ November 2016     

images-1
Josiah Teen Book Worms
Discussing “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs on Thursday, December 1st  between 7-8:30 pm at the library

Preschool story hour 10:00 am – 11:00 am November 3, 10, 17 Join Mrs. Grainger & Ms. Rosalie for a fun filled hour of stories, crafts and a snack. Ages 2 – 5

Mini Technology tutorials offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays by appointment.

November 8th – 2016 General and Presidential Election- Please vote!  

1, 2, 3, Cook! Tuesday, November 8th at 12:30 pm – 2:00 pm. join us for “The Village Chicken” How to make the most of your “free range” purchase. Pittsfield Community Center. Lunch at the center is served prior to this meeting for $2.00.

After School Maker Lego program resumes! Please join us for Lego fun on Wednesdays from 3:30-4:30 on November 9, 16, 30 and December 7, &14

New! Family Game Night! November 10th at 7:00 pm all ages welcome. Come play with us. We are open to learning new games. Some of the games we are exploring will be various forms of “UNO” “Forbidden Island,” and Adventure-Time Card wars

November 11th Library closed in observance of Veteran’s Day

November 16th 2:30- 7:00 pm Open House– Please visit the library to celebrate and thank Carol Grainger for the many years of service she has given to the library. While Carol will be sorely missed, she has not gone away! She will continue her involvement with the Friends of the Library and as a per diem substitute. Carol has remarkable value as a community leader, who we will rely on for assistance well into the future.

Library Board of Trustees Meeting Wednesday, November 16 at 7 pm

Pittsfield Writers Circle – December 17th new members welcome 7 pm

The Library will be closed November 24, 25 & 26 for the Thanksgiving holiday. 

Read Meet & Talk Join us for an exciting book discussion on “The Edge of the Orchard” by Tracy Chevalier.  The book club meets at the Pittsfield Senior Community Center Tuesday, November 29th   at 10:30. Stay for a leisurely lunch afterward.